FinTech Office

The Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) has launched a FinTech Office since the second half of 2020, which aims to work with all major stakeholders to build a mature FinTech ecosystem in the UAE and position the nation as a foremost FinTech hub regionally and globally. The roadmap for accomplishing the mission is set out below.

 

strategic ambition journey of becoming a leading FinTech hub globally by 2023

Established to contribute to the UAE’s FinTech and advanced innovation agenda, the CBUAE FinTech Office will also serve as a single point of contact and a centre of excellence for all FinTech-related matters. 

The FinTech Office is mandated to execute the UAE’s FinTech strategy, which is centered on innovation and collaboration. The FinTech Office is working hand-in-hand with industry and regulatory authorities to embrace innovation and digital transformation whilst promoting a culture of robust risk management.  This commitment is backed by two-pillars: (i) effective and balanced regulations; and (ii) robust digital infrastructures. These two pillars form a solid foundation for five core building blocks or strategic focus areas to allow continued development and innovation of FinTech in the UAE.  The five core building blocks comprise: (i) research and application; (ii) regulatory interface; (iii) coordination and liaison; (iv) talent development; and (v) cross-border collaboration.

Since February 2021, the CBUAE has worked with its global central banking partners on the mBridge project to deliver a proof-of-concept product on the use of central bank digital currency (CBDC) for international fund transfers based on distributed ledger technology (DLT – also known as “blockchain”). The project aims to create more efficient and innovative CBDC infrastructure to reduce obstacles to cross-border payments, including high costs, lack of transparency, low efficiency and other operational complexities.

The project has now identified a number of business cases based on historical transactions to test the recently-developed mBridge Trial Platform. In addition, a roadmap for the mBridge project’s target achievements in 2022 has been established, using an iterative and agile process to develop a minimally-viable product that could support the full process of international trade settlement and other uses.
 

mBridge Report

mBridge Brochure

7/11/2021

Following an industry consultation in June 2021, the CBUAE, SCA, DFSA and FSRA have published joint Guidelines to set out principles and best practices for financial institutions when adopting enabling technologies to develop and offer innovative products and services. 

The enabling technologies include: 
-    Application Programming Interfaces; 
-    Big Data Analytics and Artificial Intelligence; 
-    Biometrics; 
-    Cloud Computing; and 
-    Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT – also known as “blockchain”).

The objective of these Guidelines is to promote the safe and sound adoption of these enabling technologies by financial institutions across the UAE, managing the risks arising from their adoption proactively and appropriately. 

The Regulators have considered international standards, industry best practice and valuable feedback from market participants during this industry consultation.

The joint Guidelines will apply to all financial institutions that are licensed and supervised by any of the Regulators and that utilise enabling technologies, irrespective of the financial activities conducted. 
 

Click here to download the Guidelines

 

The Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE), the Securities and Commodities Authority (SCA), the Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA), and the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) of Abu Dhabi Global Market have jointly launched a consultation on the Guidelines for Financial Institutions Adopting Enabling Technologies.

The Guidelines set out cross-sectoral principles and best practices for financial institutions when adopting enabling technologies for the development or offering of innovative products and services. The enabling technologies include: Application Programming Interfaces; Big Data Analytics and Artificial Intelligence; Biometrics; Cloud Computing; and Distributed Ledger Technology.

Click here to download the Guidelines

Comments on the Guidelines can be sent to the email address:  “consultation-etechnology@cbuae.gov.ae” no later than 30th June 2021.

Further details of the five core building blocks or strategic focus areas are set out below.

  • Regulatory Interface: An interface between market participants and regulators within CBUAE (e.g. Regulatory Sandbox, Innovation Hub, Reg. Dialogues and Industry Survey)
  • Talent Development: A facilitator to nurture talents to meet the growing needs of the FinTech sector (e.g. Talent Development Programme/Career Accelerator Scheme)
  • National / Cross-border Collaboration: A collaborator to build a partnership model with onshore and cross-border key stakeholders (e.g. GFIN, cooperative agreements, cross-border projects and international committees)
  • Coordination & Liaison: A coordination platform for the exchange of ideas regarding innovative Fintech initiatives among key stakeholders (e.g. Committees to allow major stakeholders to meet and discuss, solution/needs driven events and accelerator)
  • Research and Application: An initiator of industry research in potential application and risks of FinTech solutions (e.g. Cybersecurity, DLT trade finance, e-payment, AI, KYC)

Diagram of five strategic focus areas

CBUAE FinTech office Banners-01

 

A video focusing on the set up of the FinTech Office, its mission and key initiatives is attached below.

Central bank_FintechL_movie_amends Title-01

 

CBUAE Fintech office is working with industry stakeholders and other regulatory authorities in the UAE, the CBUAE FinTech Office is envisioned to facilitate the continuous advancement of an equally progressive and secure FinTech sector across the UAE, aid in the attraction of international and regional FinTech companies, and provide a platform for all market participants to collaborate and innovate. 

Fintech Ecosystem Partners Banner - Final-01

 

A number of the Fintech office initiatives have been completed or are underway, including, amongst others:

  • E-KYC: Establish the fundamentals for a nationwide eKYC platform that allows financial institutions in the UAE to perform KYC checks and approve customer applications electronically
  • Digital Payment: Develop a research paper on the medium and long-term strategic plan for building a successful digital payments ecosystem in the UAE, considering all relevant trends in the field of payments, including cryptocurrency
  • Common FinTech Regulatory Framework: Develop a balanced and robust common regulatory framework for FinTech covering the onshore market and financial free zones
  • Regulatory Co-sandboxing: Develop regulations to implement a co-sandboxing arrangement and provide harmonised regulatory requirements and procedures for any entities looking to launch a FinTech solution in both onshore and financial free zones
  • FinTech related policy: Identify gaps and overlaps and provide solutions to CBUAE officers to support development of harmonized FinTech regulations

مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك)

أعلن مصرف الإمارات العربية المتحدة المركزي عن الإطلاق الرسمي لمكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) مؤخراً، والذي يهدف إلى تطوير نظام بيئي ناضج للتكنولوجيا المالية داخل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ووضع الدولة كمركز رئيسي في هذا المجال على الصعيدين الإقليمي والعالمي.

يوضح الرسم البياني أدناه رحلة الطموح الاستراتيجي كي نصبح مركزاً رائداً للتكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) على مستوى العالم.

strategic ambition journey of becoming a leading FinTech hub globally by 2023

 

أنشئ المكتب للمساهمة في أجندة التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) والابتكار المتقدم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما أن مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) سيخدم كجهة اتصال واحدة ومركزاً للتميز لجميع المسائل المتعلقة بهذا المجال.

كما تم تكليف مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) بتنفيذ استراتيجية التكنولوجيا المالية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والتي تركز على الابتكار والتعاون. نحن نعمل جنباً إلى جنب مع الأطراف المعنية في هذا القطاع والسُلطات التنظيمية لاحتضان الابتكار والتحول الرقمي مع تعزيز ثقافة إدارة المخاطر القوية.

ويدعم هذا الالتزام دعامتان: (1) أنظمة فعالة ومتوازنة؛ و(2) البنى التحتية الرقمية القوية. تشكل هاتان الركيزتان أساساً متيناً لخمسة أسس تهدف لاستمرار التطوير والابتكار في مجال التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والتي تشمل: (1) البحث والتطبيق؛ (2) الواجهة التنظيمية؛ (3) التنسيق والاتصال؛ (4) تنمية المواهب؛ و(5) التعاون عبر الحدود.

عمل المصرف المركزي منذُ شهر فبراير عام 2021 مع شركائه من البنوك المركزية العالمية في مشروع "الجسر" لتقديم خدمات "إثبات مفهوم" للمشروع ذو صلةٍ باستخدام العملات الرقمية للبنوك المركزية في المدفوعات عبر الحدود، عن طريق الاعتماد على تقنية السجلات الموزعة، (المعروفة أيضاً باسم البلوك تشين). ويهدف المشروع إلى إنشاء بنيةٍ تحتيةٍ للعملات الرقمية للبنوك المركزية تكون أكثر كفاءةً وابتكاراً لتقليل عقبات الدفع عبر الحدود، بما في ذلك التكاليف المرتفعة وعدم الشفافية وانخفاض الكفاءة وغيرها من التعقيدات التشغيلية.

حدد فريق المشروع في الوقت الحالي عدداً من حالات العمل بناءً على المعاملات السابقة لاختبار النظام التجريبي لمشروع الجسر"mBridge" الذي تم تطويره مؤخراً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم وضع خارطة طريق للإنجازات المستهدفة لمشروع الجسر"mBridge" لعام 2022، بالاعتماد على أساليب مرنة وسريعة لتطوير خدمات قابلة للتطبيق وقادرة على دعم معاملات التمويل التجاري الدولي والعمليات المالية الأخرى.
 

تقرير mBridge

كتيب mBridge

7/11/2021

بعد إجراء مشاورات مع مؤسسات القطاع في شهر يونيو عام 2021، نشر المصرف المركزي وهيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع وسلطة دبي للخدمات المالية وسلطة تنظيم الخدمات المالية قواعد إرشادية مشتركة لوضع المبادئ وأفضل الممارسات للمؤسسات المالية عند اعتماد التقنيات التمكينية بهدف تطوير وتقديم منتجات وخدمات مبتكرة.

تشمل التقنيات التمكينية ما يلي:
-    واجهات برمجة التطبيقات؛
-    تحليلات البيانات الضخمة والذكاء الاصطناعي؛
-    القياسات الحيوية؛
-    الحوسبة السحابية؛ و
-    تقنية السجلات الموزعة (المعروفة أيضاً باسم البلوك تشين) 


تهدفُ هذه القواعد الإرشادية إلى تعزيز اعتماد هذه التقنيات التمكينية بشكل آمن وسليم من قبل المؤسسات المالية في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإدارة المخاطر الناشئة عن اعتمادها بشكل استباقي ومناسب.

وقد أخذت الجهات الرقابية بعين الاعتبار المعايير الدولية وأفضل الممارسات في القطاع والملاحظات القيمة التي قدمها المشاركون من الأسواق خلال هذه المشاورات.

وسيتم تطبيق القواعد الإرشادية المشتركة على جميع المؤسسات المالية المُرخصة التي تستخدم التقنيات التمكينية، والخاضعة للرقابة من قبل أي من الجهات الرقابية، بغض النظر عن الأنشطة المالية التي تمارسها.


أضغط هنا لتحميل القواعد الإرشادية (متوفر باللغة الانجليزية فقط)

 

أطلق مصرف الإمارات العربية المتحدة المركزي، وهيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع، وسلطة دبي للخدمات المالية بمركز دبي المالي العالمي، وسلطة تنظيم الخدمات المالية في سوق أبوظبي العالمي، بشكل مشترك طلب إستشارة بشأن القواعد الارشادية للمؤسسات المالية التي تتبنى التقنيات التمكينية.

تحدّد الإستشارة التي تم إطلاقها اليوم الارشادات المشتركة بين القطاعات، إلى جانب أفضل الممارسات للمؤسسات المالية عند اعتمادها التقنيات التمكينية لتطوير أو تقديم منتجات وخدمات مبتكرة. وتشمل التقنيات التمكينية: واجهات برمجة التطبيقات، وتحليلات البيانات الضخمة والذكاء الاصطناعي، والقياسات الحيوية، والحوسبة السحابية، وتكنولوجيا السجلات الموزعة.


أضغط هنا لتحميل القواعد الإرشادية

يمكن إرسال الملاحظات حول القواعد الإرشادية إلى عنوان البريد الإلكتروني: "consultation-etechnology@cbuae.gov.aeفي موعد أقصاه 30 يونيو 2021

 

فيما يلي مزيد من التفاصيل حول العناصر الأساسية أو مجالات التركيز الاستراتيجية الخمسة:

  • الواجهة التنظيمية: واجهة بين المشاركين في السوق والجهات التنظيمية داخل المصرف المركزي (مثل وضع الحماية التنظيمي ومركز الابتكار والحوارات التنظيمية واستطلاع القطاع)
  • تنمية المواهب: المساعدة في تنمية المواهب بهدف تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة لقطاع التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) (مثل برنامج تنمية المواهب / برنامج تطوير المسارات المهنية)
  • التعاون الوطني/ عبر الحدود: التعاون التعاون لبناء نموذج شراكة مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين داخل الدولة وعبر الحدود (مثل شبكة الابتكار المالي العالمية والاتفاقيات التعاونية والمشاريع العابرة للحدود واللجان الدولية)
  • التنسيق والاتصال: منصة تنسيق لتبادل الأفكار المتعلّقة بمبادرات التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) المبتكرة بين أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين (مثل تنسيق اجتماع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين، بالإضافة إلى تبادل الأفكار حول الأحداث والمسرعات المدفوعة بالحلول / الاحتياجات)
  • البحث والتطبيق: المبادرة لإعداد أبحاث في قطاع العمل المتعلّق بالتطبيقات المحتملة ومخاطر حلول التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) (مثل الأمن الإلكتروني، تمويل التجارة وتكنولوجيا دفتر الحسابات الموزع (DLT trade finance)، الدفع الإلكتروني، الذكاء الاصطناعي، اعرف عميلك)

يوضح الرسم البياني أدناه مجالات التركيز الاستراتيجية الخمسة.

CBUAE FinTech office Banners-01

 

مقطع الفيديو المرفق أدناه يسلّط الضوء على إنشاء مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) ورسالته ومبادراته الرئيسية.

Central bank_FintechL_movie_amends Title-01

 

يعمل مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) في المصرف المركزي مع أصحاب المصلحة في قطاع العمل والسُلطات التنظيمية الأخرى في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويقع على عاتق مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) في المصرف المركزي مسؤولية تسهيل التقدّم المستمر لقطاع التكنولوجيا المالية المتقدم والآمن في جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات، إلى جانب المساعدة في جذب شركات التكنولوجيا المالية الدولية والإقليمية، وتوفير منصة للتعاون والابتكار بين جميع المشاركين في السوق.

Fintech Ecosystem Partners Banner - Final-01

 

تم إنجاز العديد من مبادرات مكتب التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك)، فيما لا يزال البعض منها قيد التنفيذ، وتتضمّن:

  • منصة "أعرف عميلك" الإلكترونية (eKYC): إرساء الأساسيات لمنصة "اعرف عميلك" الإلكترونية (eKYC) على الصعيد الوطني، والتي تمكّن المؤسسات المالية في دولة الإمارات من إجراء اختبارات استيفاء متطلّبات معرفة العميل، والموافقة على طلبات العملاء إلكترونياً
  • الدفع الرقمي: تطوير ورقة بحثية حول الخطة الاستراتيجية المتوسّطة والطويلة الأجل لبناء نظام دفع رقمي ناجح في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ويترافق ذلك مع مراعاة جميع الاتجاهات ذات الصلة في مجال المدفوعات، والتي تتضمّن العملات المشفّرة
  • الإطار التنظيمي المشترك للتكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك): وضع إطار تنظيمي مشترك متوازن وقوي للتكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) بحيث يغطّي السوق الداخلية والمناطق المالية الحرة
  • وضع البيئة التجريبية المشتركةCo-sandboxing) ): تطوير اللوائح من أجل تنفيذ وترتيب وضع الحماية المشترك، وتوفير المتطلّبات والإجراءات التنظيمية المنسقة لأي جهة تودّ إطلاق حل التكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك) في السوق الداخلية والمناطق المالية الحرة
  • السياسة المتعلقة بالتكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك): تحديد الثغرات والتداخلات وتقديم الحلول لموظفي المصرف المركزي من أجل دعم تطوير اللوائح المنسّقة للتكنولوجيا المالية (فنتك)

البريد الإلكتروني: fintechoffice@cbuae.gov.ae